My oldest child is only three, and yet I have spent a copious amount of time trying to decide the type of education my children should have. I’m trying to answer the hard questions. What is the goal of my children’s education? What do I hope to accomplish through their education? Do I want them to be smart? Do I want them to be successful? How should I define success? Do I want them to be able to get good jobs and make lots of money to be financially secure? Do I want them to have many opportunities to do something worthwhile in this world? What sort of things are worthwhile in this world?

In regards to my own education, I would say I always heard, “You must do well in school and go to college so you can get a good job and support yourself.” That was pretty much it in the stated purpose of my education. And I would think that many who haven’t really thought about the issue would say the same thing.

If our sole purpose in life is to glorify God, then how can such an important thing as education be reduced to a means of getting a job or just obtaining knowledge for the sake of obtaining knowledge. If all things hold together in Christ, as is stated in Col. 1.17, how can a true education not be Christ-centered? If the fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, how can a true education take place in an environment where God is ultimately divorced from all areas of learning.

This is what I want for my children. Of course, they need money to put a roof over their heads, clothes on their bodies and food in their mouths. I want my son to be educated enough to support his family as it is his God-given duty to do so. But my goals go so far beyond that. I want them to live their lives for the glory of God. I want them to have integrity and compassion and be honest, diligent and responsible. I want my children to be able to pick up God’s Word and read it and have the tools necessary to properly study it. I want them to be able to articulate and defend their faith clearly with others. I want them to be able to see how God has been active throughout all history and that the logic behind mathematics would have no basis at all if God didn’t exist. I want them to be able to see through all the false teaching that is so pervasive in our society and is even creeping into our churches. I don’t want them being deceived and falling for everything they hear just because someone has a bit of charisma behind their ideas. I want them to hear the propaganda in the media and recognize it for what it is. I want them to read a newspaper article or listen to someone’s argument or speech and be able to determine if what’s being said is actually logical and true and not be deceived. I want them to see the deficiencies in other worldviews and their ramifications. I could go on and maybe I’ll add other things later. But ultimately I want my children’s education to equip them for these things. I want them to think. I want them to be discerning. I want them to have the tools necessary to learn by themselves. I want them to have a Biblical worldview where their faith is seen in every aspect of their lives.

