Consider the following scenario:

Let’s say someone wants to “not shelter” their children from the ways of the world. So they’re going to sit them down in front of an average sitcom or show on primetime television. (Note: they may have a better chance of exposing their child to homosexuality if they choose a sitcom or show on ABC.) Afterwards, they’re going to sit down with them and say, “Now, son, you have just seen an example of what the world loves and God hates. The world sees nothing wrong with people “hooking up” and “living together”, but rather these behaviors are actually encouraged. You also see that homosexuality is totally accepted. You see that God’s name was blasphemed 7 times in a half hour. Christianity was ridiculed twice. Now, let’s look at what the Bible has to say. We’ll begin by reading Romans 1.18 through the rest of the chapter.”

Hmmm. I’m not condoning this sort of use of the television (and I would have a different view of how we should “shelter” our children), but I wonder if this actually ever happens.

Instead, this is probably what happens more often: The same show may be watched. Everyone will laugh and be entertained. Comments such as “I’m so glad they finally hooked up. I was wondering if that was ever going to happen!” may be made. Maybe when God is obviously being ridiculed someone may speak up and say “I wish they wouldn’t do that”. However, all of the “Oh my God” and “Jesus” statements are ignored or laughed at. There may be no conversation at all discussing what was actually wrong in the show. What would be the basis for such conversation? It’s like saying the following: “now children, I want to stress how important it is that we seek to live holy lives before God. Even though I know we were all laughing and being entertained by a show that condones things that God hates, that doesn’t mean that we don’t take sin seriously.”

Why do Christians tolerate this in their homes? I guess we’ve become numb. I personally don’t watch much television for the very reason that I don’t think there is much worth watching. In addition, even when I do find something that’s somewhat acceptable, I feel like I’m wasting my time if I sit there for any extended period of time. It’s so easy to get sucked in. The other night I decided I would turn on the TV. I lasted on one show for about 15 minutes. By the time God’s name was blasphemed for the third time (why didn’t I turn it off the first time?! uggghh!) I decided to change the channel. The best thing I could find was a Catholic mass on EWTN. TV time over!

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things” -Philippians 4.8 (NASB)

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” -Romans 12:2 (NASB)

