This past week I went to a ladies meeting at a neighboring church. A husband and wife were speaking about a recent crisis they had been through involving a terrible accident in which the husband was severely injured. His wife spoke at some length about her experience through the whole ordeal and shared how the providence and grace of God had provided for them and carried them through the crisis. She recalled how at one point the only thing she could do was call out to God for help. She remembered at that time looking out the window at the beautiful snow-capped mountains of Utah. She said the verse that immediately came to her mind was in Psalm 121: “I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord who made heaven and earth.” It was so beautiful and moving to see an instance of the Holy Spirit ministering God’s Word to one of his children. But what also struck a chord with me is the fact that I had my daughter memorize that exact verse last week. That verse hadn’t had a profound effect on me until I heard this woman talk about how it ministered to her life in a real and concrete way.

I’ve had this same experience several times. It’s been through talking to other Christians, listening to sermons and reading books. A verse or passage that I may have read several times will at once speak to me through the experience of another person to whom the Holy Spirit has ministered that particular Word. I’m sure this has happened in reverse too! It makes me think about how important the body of Christ is in this particular area: the ministering of God’s Word to one another. God did not intend for there to be lone-ranger Christians. We need one another. As Paul says in Colossians 3:16:

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.”

