This was a great week! Monday was a snow day. Daddy was able to stay home from work and built a snowman with the kids. I was very impressed. Below are two pictures. The first is a snowman that I built back in January. The second is the one that my husband built on Monday. One of us was born and raised in the South and the other was born and raised in the North. Can you guess who’s who? It’s obvious I have no experience with snow.

012 028

I’d like to share a photo that was actually from last Friday. I couldn’t talk very well (I had a crud relapse), so Daddy did the reading. Don’t you think this would make a great Sonlight catalog picture? 🙂

032

We had a very successful trip to the library this week. I’m thinking about cataloging the books we check out and making some notes about the ones we really liked. I’ve been inspired by the postings over at Hope is the Word, and in fact, I took some recommendations from that site before we trekked off to the library. We still have several that we haven’t even looked at yet, but we have really enjoyed Parents in the Pigpen, Pigs in the Tub. Very funny!

Finally, today we ended up at the park with 70 degree weather. Nice change from the snow on Monday! We tried a new park  and really enjoyed it. Very quiet and peaceful. My two-year old fell down two slides, fell off a rope ladder, and finally skinned his leg on the way to the car, but he bounced back every time. We had a great time until we got rear-ended at a stop light on the way home. We got hit by a monster of a work pickup truck. The back of the van door is dented in and I can’t open it. Sigh….

0121 034043

EG (4 yrs):

We were on week 26 of Sonlight p4/5.  We reread The Gods Must  Be Angry (a book based in Thailand) this week. Our dear friend Mrs. Chrys has lived in Thailand and offered to share some of her Thai stuff with us. So we went for a visit and learned interesting things about floating markets, tuk-tuks, takraw and elephants playing soccer. She gave us a Gospel tract written in Thai that I thought was really neat. Mrs. Chrys also played a little for us on her bowed psaltery-not a Thai thing, but a nice treat all the same!006

Now for the rest of the story….We worked on even and odd numbers in Singapore Math. I think she finally had this by Thursday. She was also quite giddy about her “perfect” capital “S” she wrote this week. We, of course, took a picture. Can’t let a “perfect S” go undocumented , you know. We really had to practice those last week. We made it through question 51 in the Baptist Catechism. We memorized Proverbs 10:12 that says “Hatred stirs up strife, but love covers all offenses” and Proverbs 12:20: “Deceit is in the heart of those who devise evil, but those who plan peace have joy.” We’re trying to “put off” strife and “put on” peace!



AZ (2 yrs):

This week we were on the letter W, octagon was our shape and walrus was our animal. He was ecstatic about playing Starfall on the library computer all by himself. Of course, with his headphones on, you could hear him throughout the entire first floor of the library shouting “Me do G! Me do H!” We’ll have to work on that.  He was still working on Proverbs 3.5-6 in the Foundation Verses this week. We checked out Elmo’s Potty Time from the library. Something tells me we’re going to have to renew.

01420071

SA (10 months):

The crawling newbie! Every day is his day. He is off to Great Places! He is off and away! He has brains in his head. He has feet in his shoes. He can steer himself any direction he choose. He’s on his own. And he knows what he knows. And HE is the guy who’ll decide where to go. Well, that’s what he thought anyway! He had his ears rechecked on Wednesday and he got two thumbs up. A trip to the doctor (30 minutes away) usually warrants a lunch date with Daddy. He ate pancakes and grilled cheese and listened to his sister exclaim “We don’t like this place. We like McDonalds.”

008

Me:

I’m feeling much better. I’m not completely clear of the crud, but I’m doing much, much better. I am zipping right along in my Mel Bay guitar book 1. I made it “Back to Old Virginny” this week with flying colors and “Home on the Range” never sounded sweeter. OK, I’m exaggerating a bit. I did manage to play the songs well enough to be able to move forward in the book, though. My goal at my guitar lessons is to not completely wreck the train in front of my guitar teacher. I’m on to Eminor next week and almost done with the book!

Our praise team from church sings once a month at a local nursing home. We were there on Wednesday. I usually bring the baby because the residents just love to see and touch babies. Well, to make a long story short, my chicken didn’t cook fast enough for supper that night….and yada yada yada…..I wound up at the nursing home without the baby. We all know that once you have kids, you become chopped liver and the kids are the best thing since sliced bread. Well, let’s just say some of those residents had a few words for me!

