I’ve been accused of rambling. So this is going to be short and sweet. Well, actually I don’t have tons to talk about this week, so it’s just a convenient opportunity to not ramble. I do have pictures this week. I swiped some batteries for my camera from the My First LeapPad. They’ll have to live without Leap’s Big Day for a while. By the way, does anybody else get a kick out of “I’m a BIG piece of pie!”? Oh drats, I’m doing it…..

049 056 060

EG (4 yrs):

014

We completed week 34 of Sonlight’s P4/5. We talked about anvils, caterpillars that look like bird poop, and how Uncle Wiggily always saves the day. In her reading this week she read A Fly Went By and half of Little Bear’s Friend. She didn’t quite complete a new memory verse this week, although she is working on 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, which says Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” We’re learning this verse in the context of being thankful for what God has given us, rather than complaining. She memorized question 60 of the Baptist Catechism, which asks “What is required in the third commandment?”

She’s been doing great on the keyboard. I’m hoping things are going to move very slowly. One, I don’t want to rush her. And two, I need our little 49-key keyboard to be sufficient for a while! We started on rhythm this week. We clapped out quarter notes and half notes. Once, when I was telling my husband that I wouldn’t be having another guitar lesson for four weeks, she chimed in “well, I guess I’m gonna be doing ‘quarter quarter half note’ for the next four weeks!”

031

AZ (2 yrs):

006 The Z-man worked on the letter E this week.  We completed an E page for his alphabet notebook. The E page from homeschoolshare was too advanced for him, so I had to improvise with other things I found on the web. He finished his Easy Mazes book this week! We filled out the certificate in the back of the book and stuck it on the fridge. I highly recommend Kumon workbooks for preschoolers. When he first started the maze book a few months ago, I wasn’t sure if he would be able to do it. Eventually, the only help he needed was to make sure he was holding his pencil correctly before he started. This week he finished memorizing Isaiah 30:15 and then quickly learned Isaiah 43:5 which says “Fear not, for I am with you”. He recognized this as one of his sister’s verses, and he got very excited about that. He’s all about keeping up with the Jone’s his sister.

I know many kids will ask for a million things to stall going to bed. Well, either this boy is addicted to cough medicine or he’s unable to think of more creative ways to get out of the bed at night. The conversation goes like this:

AZ: “me need meh-cine.”

Me: “why do you need medicine?”

AZ: “to ‘top my toffin.”

Me: “but you aren’t coughing.”

AZ: (coughing fit) “See!”

Me: “Go to bed.”

Repeat the next night.

045 039

SA (12 months):

I think he’s full of himself. What do you think? BTW, I’ve had that Mickey Mouse stool since I was three. I can tell my kids with confidence: “If you stand on that stool, you will fall on your noggin. Trust me. I know.”

019 017 008

Me:

I had a guitar lesson this week. My teacher had been talking about recording us playing this duet at the end of my Mel Bay book. Well he showed up yesterday with the camera, so I guess he wasn’t bluffing like I had hoped. And of course, you can guess what happened. After practicing “Rondo” ad nauseam for the last several weeks, I completely fell apart once the camera came on. “Studio jitters”, he called it. Or maybe it was one too many falls off the Mickey Mouse stool. I don’t know. Let’s just say that we’re going to try it again in four weeks. I know how to play that stinkin’ song. Really, I do.

