Me oh my! Crawfish pie! A completely irrelevant opener to a great week! We finished up at the NC homeschool conference on saturday, took a nature walk on Monday, and ended our week with a Sonlight Box Day!

On Memorial Day we took a hike at Eno River State Park. Off we went with the baby in a sling, a magnifying glass in hand, a camera, and a lot of curiosity.I’ve included some pictures of some things we saw, namely a queen snake, a little wood satyr (I think), a Fowler’s toad, and an unidentified fly (I would say it was a horse fly if it was black. I’m hoping someone may know what it is.) My husband says I’m much braver with a camera.

IMG_0191 IMG_0214 IMG_0246 IMG_0205 IMG_0212 IMG_0230

Today was our box day from Sonlight! We received Core K and p3/4. The kids were so excited. I think they were a little overwhelmed (as was I…the instructor guides make p4/5 look like a pamphlet). They were particularly excited about two things: the map and the packing material. They wanted to watch the science DVD right then (request denied). She wanted to hang the calendar in her room even though it doesn’t have any dates on it yet (request denied). They wanted to color with the snazzy Colorix crayons (request granted).

IMG_0263 IMG_0266IMG_0269

EG (4 yrs):

IMG_0209Since our school year officially ended last week, EG did no workbooks this week. None. Zilch. We continued reading Uncle Wiggily and a few other things she chose to repeat from the p4/5 core we just completed. I picked a few things off of our bookshelf for her to read to me. She read some Bob Books and a reader about Stuart Little, and, at the moment, she’s working through a book called My Favorite Book that I bought at a used book sale. I have a series of Abeka grade 2 readers that I think she’ll start next week. We’ll just see how it goes.

She’s working on memorizing 1 Peter 3:9 which says “Do not repay evil for evil or reviling for reviling, but on the contrary, bless, for to this you were called, that you may obtain a blessing.” This is one in a series of verses from Wise Words for Moms about conflict resolution from the side of the offended. She’s constantly being “offended” by her brother. At least, she thinks she is. One verse I had her learn a while back was “Be angry and do not sin.” (Eph. 4:26) In other words, “Yes, honey. I know you want to clobber him, but be angry and sin not.” She also worked this week on question 63 of the Baptist Catechism which asks “Which is the fourth commandment?” We were only able to work on this three days this week, so she’s not quite done yet.




AZ (2 yrs):

IMG_0239Sigh. We’re still in the same place in the potty training with the Z-man.  Although, he’s much more interested in the M&M’s this week than last week. I think there’s hope.

AZ didn’t really do any preschool this week. Today, he asked me about it and said he wanted to do preschool. So, I let him finish a page in his Kumon Tracing book and do one maze in his new Kumon maze book. We read Green Eggs and Ham (aka Sam I Am) twice this week at his insistence. Fortunately, I was able to distract him with Put Me in the Zoo yesterday. I need a little variety to keep me sane.

At the homeschool conference, I bought him the Explode the Code primers for the upcoming school year. He was ecstatic. He has no idea what Explode the Code actually is, but he knows that it’s something that his sister does and that’s enough reason for him to be excited. Periodically through the week, regardless of context, he would say “I got ‘plode da code”. I’m not even sure if he’s going to be ready for these books come August. His sister did them at age 3 1/2, and by that time they were too easy for her (except for the writing part). But he’s not his sister. So, we’ll see.





SA (13 months):

The little man appears to have moved out of his ornery/cantankerous stage. He’s probably just between teeth, but I’m enjoying it while it lasts. He’s all about keeping up with his siblings, chewing on the remote, pulling all the magnetic letters off the fridge, drinking out of a “big boy” sippy cup, being curious about his brother’s potty training, pointing at his mother, smacking his lips to give kisses, and signing ‘more’ and ‘eat’. I can’t help but smother him with kisses!

IMG_0225 100_0336

Me:

I have the crud at the moment. Yes, I know it’s almost June and 80+ degrees outside. Sigh.

I have six days until my next guitar lesson. I know the video camera is coming for us to record the “Rondo” duet at the end of the book. This will be ‘take 2’. Actually, it’s more like ‘take 47’ considering how many times we attempted it a month ago. Before my last lesson, I could play this song. Since then, I have yet to play it without mistakes even one time. Not even once. I have perpetual stage fright, I guess. Regardless of what happens though, I’m starting book 2 after my next lesson. Go me!

