I’m going to start with our freaky friday….well, “freaky” is not quite the right word……it was…well…different….

I had two people ask for a glass of water at my front door today. The first was a college kid selling home security systems for APX Home Security. I do not like door-to-door salesmen. I especially don’t like it when they try to chat with me about me in the middle of giving their sales pitch. It’s almost like they just got out of their communication orientation seminar and I’m their first victim. However, this kid about cracked me up. He asked “So how many kids do you have? Do you know?” Uhhhhh… I couldn’t let this pass by, so I said “I do know how many children I have. I have three. I counted them today.” He tried to laugh at himself. Later he was asking about my husband (it was obvious he wasn’t going to sell a security system to me), and he asked “So does your husband live here with you?” Sigh. I said, “Yes, he lives here with me and our three children, and he also knows we have three children. (smile)” I guess all he could do after all of that was ask for a glass of water. I was nice. Really, I was. I”m sure our talk improved his sales pitch to the people across the street.

Ten minutes after the APX guy left, there was another knock at the door. This time it was a middle-aged black woman standing there. She said she had been walking for a while and asked if she could use my phone to call someone to pick her up. I told her I could call someone for her. So, that’s what  I did. She talked to whoever on the phone and apparently they refused to come get her. She started crying and asked me to call 911 so she could get some help. I couldn’t quite understand what was wrong, but one thing was that she had a fight with her roommate (which was her sister) and when she came home, all of her stuff was in the yard. She also said something about a mental health facility and a diabetic coma. She asked for a glass of water. I got her a chair to sit in on the porch, a glass of water, and a bag of goldfish crackers, and then I called the police. I was sure to mention the “mental health facility” part to the police so they wouldn’t tarry. They were there in just a couple of minutes and she left with them. I felt sorry for her. I’ve had people come to my door asking for money for this and that or a ride here or there. I don’t trust anybody like that. But this woman didn’t ask for money. When she asked me to call 911 after she couldn’t get someone to come pick her up, I knew she really was beside herself. Anyways, I’m not sure where the police took her, and I do hope she is able to get her life straightened out.

IMG_0271 IMG_0286

EG (5 yrs old):

IMG_0295Happy Birthday to my baby girl! She turned 5 this week! Lunch at McDonalds with some of her friends made her day. We will be officially celebrating on the 13th with her brother (who will be 3 this month) with a party at the science museum.

EG started swim lessons this week. She did great! On the first day she jumped into the pool without holding a hand, and on the second day she jumped in with “nothing but her swimsuit” (as she described it). She doesn’t get in a pool very often–maybe 4-5 times a year–so I wasn’t quite sure how she would do. But she was excited and fearless!

This week we continued to read Uncle Wiggily and we started rereading the Berenstain Bears’ Big Book of Science and Nature. She also read through one of the Abeka grade 2 readers and she did great! The phonics we’re doing in the Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading is a bit tricky at the moment. We’re doing words like thought, though, brought, bough, etc. She’s pushing through.

She finished memorizing question 63 of the Baptist Catechism which asks “Which is the fourth commandment?” She also finished 1 Peter 3:9, and has almost finished Proverbs 19:11, which says “Good sense makes one slow to anger, and it is his glory to overlook an offense.”

She started this week working on Literature Pockets: Folktales and Fairy Tales. Her first story was The Little Red Hen. I included a picture below. She enjoyed doing all the little projects and was proud of her “pocket”. Next week we’ll be on The Three Little Pigs.

I’ve also included a video of her singing “Jesus Came to Earth” by Sovereign Grace Music. This is what happens when I leave my music stand out. She’s inspired to sing!

IMG_0338

AZ (2 yrs old):

IMG_0298Unfortunately, I have nothing new to report on our potty training endeavor. I take hope in the fact that I know he will not be in diapers when he goes to college.

The Z-man worked on an H page for his alphabet notebook this week. He painted this week with his sister and used his new Colorix crayons he got from Sonlight. Those things are really cool. They go on smooth like markers, but they don’t fade out like markers. Very nice!

I signed him up for a soccer camp at the end of July. He is totally pumped. He looked at his sister and said “I play soccer like YOU!!!” I just hope he understands that when someone else gets the ball he can’t fall apart.

He’s still working on his memory verses. For the last few weeks he’s been working on Proverbs 30:5 which says “Every word of God proves true; He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him.”

IMG_0339

SA (13 months):

The little man was somewhat cranky this week.  The pictures below don’t speak the whole truth. Wednesday night he had a fever of 101. Thursday the fever was close to 102, and this morning it was close to 103. By the time we made it to the doctor this morning, it was 104. Turns out he has some viral throat infection. His throat is all red with pustules on it. Doesn’t that just sound awful?! Poor baby. He’s on a super ibuprofen dose to help with the fever. We just have to let it run its course. Viruses are a pain.

IMG_0299 IMG_0273 IMG_0324

Me:

IMG_0303_smallI’m not completely over the crud, but I’m doing much better. Don’t you just hate those sinus headaches? Ughh. BTW, the picture at the left comes courtesy of the Z-man. Not bad! I was just happy he got my whole head in the picture!

Well, thursday was the day. At my guitar lesson, we recorded the “Rondo” duet. I did keep the train on the tracks; however, it was far from perfect. I just received the video tonight. I know that my friends will laugh when they read this, but…..I didn’t know I made so many facial expressions when I play guitar! I totally crack myself up! I’ve been told that I have a very expressive face at times. Most times I am completely unaware of it, and I definitely don’t ever see video of it! There’s no telling what expressions were on my face when I was talking to the APX salesman! Anyways, I’ve included the video below for your viewing pleasure. One thing is for sure, I refuse to play “Rondo” one more time. I refuse. I’m done. On to book 2.

