Well, I guess it’s been a while. Pregnancy and three young children tend to be energy zappers. It seems a little silly to write a weekly report after not doing so for 5 months. So I thought I would just give some thoughts on the end of 2009 and our first week back in 2010.

The Christmas season was very nice and festive. We took EG and the Z-man to Disney on Ice, and they had a blast. We also went to Tanglewood Park’s Festival of Lights and roasted marshmallows. For Advent we read the book Jotham’s Journey. Everyone really enjoyed it. I only had to edit a couple of parts that I thought were a little too intense for the kids, and I also skipped the ‘devotional’ type readings because the author’s theology didn’t quite sync with mine at times. Next Christmas we’ll read the next book in the trilogy, Bartholomew’s Passage.  We also did a Jesse Tree and an Advent wreath again this year. We traveled to see my family the week after Christmas. It was nice to visit, but Little Man was sick starting the first half of the week, and I was sick starting the second half of the week (and am still recovering). I guess we had a cold-gone-haywire. His led to sinus and ear infections. Mine led to asthma. I had a tough time getting through it, which is why we started school back this week instead of last week.

EG (5 yrs old):

Well, EG finished the fall soccer season. She finally scored a goal during the last game. Of course, it was one of the games I missed. Oh well. Here’s to the spring season!! I think practice will start next month.

For the past 5 months, we’ve been working through Sonlight’s Core K. We’ve read several good books: The Apple and the Arrow, My Father’s Dragon, Twenty and Ten, The Hundred Dresses, The Light at Tern Rock, The Family Under the Bridge, Mary on Horseback, and most recently Doctor Dolittle. We finished Doctor Dolittle a little ahead of schedule, so this week (week 20) we didn’t read much more than some missionary stories and some poems.

In science we’ve covered a variety of topics and have done some experiments. I included a picture of her weather vane experiment back in September, and most recently, a picture of the amaryllis that we sprouted in a jar of water. As you can see, the Z-man is all about the science experiments too, and Little Man gets in on the action when feasible. This week in science we started reading about the human body.

In math, she finished Singapore Earlybird Math and started Rod & Staff Grade 1 math at the end of last year. She’s really starting to learn some addition facts now, so I’m happy about that. We’ll probably add in some Singapore Math again in 1st grade. I like how Singapore makes you think.

This week she has also been working on labeling the continents and the oceans. I finally got our markable map up on the wall, so that has helped us make some progress. Next we’ll move on to learning the USA states. She knows nothing about the states other than “Florida sticks out like a finger and we live north of there.” I’m thinking about getting a board game and/or puzzle to get her started.

EG is doing great in reading. She’s a little ahead in Sonlight’s Readers 2. She likes to read more than is scheduled. She has also read a couple of Magic Tree House books (one about Thanksgiving and another about Pompeii) for fun. She completed Explode the Code book 4 and is now working through book 5. I also started this week letting her read from the ESV Bible, and she did great!

She has memorized several verses and catechism questions since August. This week she memorized parts of Isaiah 46.10-11 which says “I say, ‘My purpose will stand and I will do all that I please….What I have said, that will I bring about. What I have planned, that will I do.'” She is currently working on question 89 of the Baptism Catechism which asks “What then is the purpose of the law since the fall?”

AZ (3 yrs old):

I regret to report that Operation Potty Training has not progressed as much as I would have hoped. The only thing that has improved has been the size of  his bladder….which means I don’t have to shuffle him to the potty every hour now….just every two hours. Our biggest problem is that he will not say when he needs to go potty. He will not. I have to tell him to go. If I don’t do that in time, he’ll just wet himself. And here’s the most frustrating part of that: most of the time, he will not even tell me that he has wet himself. He just keeps on playing until either I notice his pants are wet or his sister reports a mysterious wet spot in the floor. He’s three and a half!!!!! Inhale. Exhale. Moving on….

In school, the Z-man has mainly been working on fine motor skills, like tracing and cutting. He knows most of his letters and their sounds, but he has little phonemic awareness. So, we’ll just keep plugging away at those things for a few more months until I think he’s ready to learn to read. We’ve also been reading books from Sonlight’s p3/4. His sister loves these books as well, and the Z-man also listens in on some of her books. He loved Dr. Dolittle! I haven’t been doing much math-type stuff with him, but this week I pulled all of the Brazil nuts out of the bowl and he counted all of them up to 15. I guess that’s not too bad for a 3 year old!

Over the past few months, he has been steadily working on verse and catechism memorization.  He now knows just over twenty verses and the first seven questions of the Baptist Catechism. He’s about to start learning the ten commandments.

The Z-man received some Playmobil Knights sets for Christmas, and one of them came with a big shield and sword. He spends quite a bit of time defending the family from bad guys, dragons and strangely enough…pigs. I’ve told him “killing his sister” is not allowed.

SA (20 months):

Well, it’s been five months since our last report, and Little Man is now running around. You see that he has a head full of hair. That’s because he behaves so badly for his haircuts that not much is accomplished. A Dum-Dum sucker worked for the first haircut, but it’s been downhill ever since. Little Man can now say a few words and is getting better at sign language. He’s a book fanatic! He loves Curious George and anything with trucks. As a matter of fact, that was his first word…truck. He’s also very into whatever his siblings are doing. Of course, this usually causes problems. Little Man also has a bit of a temper. If he’s crying, it’s usually because he’s mad.

This week I was given a little ray of hope that potty training him will be easier than what we’ve been through with the Z-man. Little Man came up to me and patted his bottom and waved his hand in front of his nose. The kid needed a diaper change. Bless his heart.

Me:

I’ve made some good progress on the guitar over the last five months. I’ve been playing in church since the beginning of September, and it’s getting easier and easier. I’m now starting to learn some fingerstyle playing. James Taylor, look out! Yeah, right. In my dreams!!

We joined Netflix last night. We’re supposed to receive our first two DVD’s tomorrow. Of course, they’re for the kids. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and a Magic School Bus DVD about the human body. I did put a few things in the queue for me, though. We have a two week free trial, so we’ll see how it goes.

Well, that’s all I have for now. I’ll try again next week, but I’m not making any promises. I’m tired!

