Another week has passed. Monday was a holiday, and the kids got to spend some time playing in the leaves with Daddy. Due to the beautiful weather the first half of the week, they got some outside time that they desperately needed. The last couple of days were cold and wet, so they spent some time this morning blissfully playing together with legos while Mom sat with her feet up sipping some coffee. Yeah, right! The truth is that I never even got to my coffee this morning, and the lego session was plagued every 90 seconds or so with the Z-man bursting into tears because Little Man was destroying his creation. Oh, well. It makes a nice little picture.

EG (5 yrs old):

This week we began reading the charming stories in In Grandma’s Attic in week 21 of Sonlight’s Core K. We also read more missionary stories around the time of World War II, and in science we read more about the human body.

This week in Rod & Staff Math 1, she began speed drills.  The speed drills are assigned for every other lesson. She loves them! She’s still practicing the 5 family (addition facts that equal 5) in her workbook. She doesn’t get 2+3 and 3+2 100% of the time,  but she’s getting better. We’ve added in some flash cards. She also practiced counting by 2’s, 5’s, 10’s, and 1’s to 100 every day.

In reading, EG worked on words ending in sion and tion in the The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading, as well as some four syllable words. The lessons near the end of the book can be quite difficult, so we usually repeat them a few times. She also sped through a couple of readers in Sonlight’s Readers 2. Before long, I’m going to have to order the next level of books. She’s going through these too fast! I also let her read some more in the ESV Bible. I usually find the book for her, and then she looks up the chapter and verse.

This week she memorized a couple of verses for Sunday School and finished Baptist Catechism question 89. She’s now working on question 90, which asks “Are all transgressions of the law equally heinous?”

Last Saturday, I bought her a regular spiral bound notebook. She was captivated by the dalmatian puppy with pink bows in its hair that graced the cover. She decided she wanted to send letters to people, so she wrote a couple of thank-you notes for Christmas presents. She was very proud of herself. It was her first time writing on regular lined paper. She tends to do quite well in handwriting. I included a sample of her work this week.

Oh yes! One more thing about EG. She usually flosses her own teeth at night, but one day this week she asked me to do it. And what did I discover? Two permanent molars are almost completely through. That’s the kind of teething we like! I didn’t even know when kids start getting their permanent teeth. I had to go google it.

AZ (3 yrs old):

Operation Potty Training: No improvements other than I did a GREAT job getting him to the potty in time this week. Go me! I was so confident in my abilities that I even let him leave the house a couple of times this week wearing underwear instead of a pull-up!

The Z-man did his usual stuff this week with his Kumon workbooks. He actually does very well at tracing, even though he can’t write anything at all. In one workbook, he’s working on capital letters.  Today he had a capital A.  At the top of the page was the word ANT and a corresponding picture. I had left the table and was at the other end of the house when I heard “I can read! I can read!” When I arrived, he told me “that says ant!” I said “Very good! Now, let’s sound out those letters so we’ll know why it says ant.” Well, he stopped me and said he could do it by himself. So, he slowly sounded out each of the letters. I was so proud of him! He’s so excited to learn how to read. Many times he’ll say to his sister “I don’t know how to read yet” and he’ll poke his lip out. He’s an expert lip-poker-outer. Even when he’s in a good mood, if he’s telling you something that he finds disappointing, the lip comes out.

This week the Z-man has been working on memorizing the ten commandments. Right now he’s on Exodus 20.2-3, which says “I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out the house of slavery. You shall have no other gods before me.” He’s doing quite well, but it took me a couple of days to make him stop saying “out of the land of Judah“. I guess when he doesn’t know a word, he just substitutes some other Bible word!! He’s also working on Baptist Catechism question 8, which asks “What is God?” The answer is “God is a Spirit, infinite, eternal, and unchangeable, in His being, wisdom, power, holiness, justice, goodness and truth.” This one is going to take him a while.

SA (21 months):

What can I say about Little Man? Doesn’t the picture speak for itself? He’s quite a character. Lately, he’s been trying to give me instructions on where to put things. I think he believes that if I didn’t have him, I wouldn’t be able to do anything. If I get a pizza out of the freezer, he pats the oven. If I get laundry out of the dryer, he runs ahead of me and pats my bed (that’s where I fold laundry). At mealtimes, he pats his place at the table, so I’ll know where to put his food. BTW, that reminds me. I think he just had a growth spurt. He’s been eating us out of house and home.

Me:

The highlight of my week was getting my blood drawn four times in a 3 hour period. Yes, some of you may be able to relate. It turns out that I failed my 1-hour glucola test last week for gestational diabetes. So, I had to do the 3-hour glucose tolerance test this week. Fun, fun. I went through the same thing when I was pregnant with Little Man and everything turned out okay. Maybe that’s the way it’ll go this time. I’ll probably know by Monday if the results are bad.

On guitar, I’m currently working through three different books, Mel Bay’s Modern Guitar Method Book 2, The Christopher Parkening Guitar Method, Vol.1 (classical), and Mark Hanson’s Fingerstyle Guitar. This is all in addition to working on music for church. I really like the sound of fingerstyle guitar playing, although right now it still feels very awkward to me. I’m so glad I decided to start taking lessons over a year ago. It keeps me accountable and pushes me forward.

