Our week started with snow last Saturday. Visions of hot cocoa, warm socks, and board games danced in my head. However, my visions were shattered by a leak in the refrigerator. After we identified the source of the leak, Hubby had to crawl under the house to turn off the valve to the fridge water supply. Unfortunately, he discovered that the valve didn’t work. In the end, my “I’m from Michigan. I laugh-HA HA- in the face of winter weather” husband had to brave the snowy roads of North Carolina to get to a hardware store to buy a work-around solution. Now, a week later, the fridge isn’t leaking, but we currently don’t have a working ice maker and water dispenser. We still need a trip to an appliance store for the part to fix the original problem. And since we’re having freezing rain/snow today and tomorrow, I don’t see that trip happening this weekend. Oh, wait a minute. Snow, Schmo, Sleet, Schmeet, Ice, Schmice! I’ve got a Michigan boy for a husband! I’m sure he’ll slide to the appliance store with skills yet unseen in this neck of the woods! On the bright side, I was able to clean out underneath the fridge, which is something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. It was scary. Very scary.

EG (5 yrs old):

This week EG finished up week 23 of Sonlight’s Core K. We’re still working through the stories in In Grandma’s Attic. Such a charming book! In Sonlight’s Science K we read about atoms, molecules, materials, mixtures and reactions….in short—chemistry. We did an experiment to see if water takes up more space when it freezes. We also started an evaporation experiment to make rainbow sugar. It will probably be next week before it is finished since we are currently having freezing rain, and I, the pregnant one with my own personal internal heater, am not about to turn up the thermostat. In other words, there isn’t much evaporation going on around here! In the meantime, I have four saucers taking up already limited counter space in our kitchen!

In Rod & Staff Math 1, EG worked on the six family. She did great on her speed drills this week. She finished one completely, and on the other two, she only lacked one or two problems. Today she became rather upset about it because she only had one problem left when I told her time was up. She decided she didn’t like speed drills and wouldn’t like them until I gave her two minutes to finish. Sigh. I guess we all have a little bit of that in us. When things don’t go our way, we sometimes get cranky and want to change the rules. We want whatever brings success with the least amount of work. Selah. Pause and meditate.

In reading, EG read a Frog and Toad book and a lesson about turtles from the Christian Liberty Press Nature Reader Book K. She also started Explode the Code book 6. She continued to work on multi-syllable words in The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading.

In her memory work, EG memorized Proverbs 12:22 which says “Lying lips are an abomination to the Lord, but those who act faithfully are His delight.” She also memorized question 91 of the Baptist Catechism, which asks “What does every sin deserve?”

EG also did a little art this week. We haven’t done much in art so far in K for the very reason that I usually don’t take time to be prepared. I’m going to try to do better. We have discussed the elements of shape outlined in Drawing with Children a few times. Well, this week she finally got to the first major drawing exercise–the bird from Tico and the Golden Wings. I included a picture of her drawing. We also read a book about Michelangelo this week. EG will occasionally do projects from Evan-Moor’s How to Teach Art to Children. This week I went ahead and prepared for the project that she will do next week. See, I’m making progress in the preparation department! I think both of these art books are topnotch, and, if I can get my ducks in a row, I believe she will progress nicely in art.

EG started a new class at our local YMCA this week. It’s called Swim&Gym and it’s targeted for homeschool students. It meets once a week for an hour and a half in the early afternoon. The first half is spent in the gym playing games and learning sports skills, and the second half is spent in the pool learning to swim. She was a little bashful at first. She didn’t want to run “right over” during “Red Rover, Red Rover”. Eventually she loosened up a bit and had a great time playing balloon volleyball. She really loved the pool, but she had the same problem that she had the last time she took swim lessons: she doesn’t want to get her face wet. I told her it’s kinda hard to swim with your face pointed to the ceiling. Hopefully she will improve.

AZ (3 yrs old):

I’m happy to report that the Z-man is slowly making progress in Operation Potty Training. He managed to wake up dry every morning this week.  He only had one bad day in which he had three accidents–including one at Wal-mart. I was none too happy that day, but at least he said something about it instead of pretending that it didn’t happen.  Actually, two of those times were in the bathroom. I think he was trying to get to the potty, but he waited too late.  I still don’t trust him to tell me when he needs to go potty, but I’m encouraged by his improved attitude. I’ve been playing up to his ego to motivate him, and as a result, he reminds me daily that he is “THE big brother in the house!”

This week, the Z-man worked in Get Ready for the Code with the letter B. He seems to be getting better at hearing letter sounds at the beginning of words. He has also started coveting his sister’s reading abilities. Yes, the pouty lip came out.

In his memory work, he worked on memorizing the second commandment, which says “You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.”  He also worked on question 9 of the Baptist Catechism, which asks “Are there more Gods than one?”

The Z-man started taking swimming lessons again this week. There would have been more drama than I could handle if I had signed up his sister for a class and left him high and dry. His lessons are at a rather inconvenient time, but we’re making it work. He does really well in the pool. He has no fear of the water (although my hubby says he could stand to gain a little respect) and has no problem getting his whole head wet. The teacher said he was advanced for his age, so she’s going to try some different things with him to get him swimming on his own.

SA (21 months):

Little Man is doing great in his toddler bed! He loves his Pillow Pet Grandma got him for Christmas. Sometimes at the beginning of naptime, I’ll find him playing in his room. Sometimes it takes a couple of attempts to get him to stay in the bed, but overall it hasn’t been much of a problem. There have been no problems at all during the night.

And speaking of Christmas presents, he loves his Lego Duplo blocks! He plays with them every single day and is getting better at building things. And better yet, this week he was somewhat more occupied with them than usual, especially when the Z-man played with him. As a result, his sister had a much better week doing her school work without her little brother trying to snatch it.

This week Little Man developed an affection for Elmo, or as he likes to call him, “la la la la”, as in the theme song “La la la la. La la la la. Elmo’s World.”   He actually sings his name! It’s so cute!

Me:

I think I’m starting to waddle. That’s all.

