Well, we survived another week. It turned out to be warmer than expected last Saturday, so the roads weren’t icy. Three minutes after leaving the house…. Hey, wait a minute. Didn’t I write this last week? Why, yes I did! That’s because this past Saturday wasn’t much different than the Saturday before. Three minutes after leaving the house, we start hearing strange noises coming from the van. It turned out that the serpentine belt (that we just had replaced one week before) was about to break again. We took the van back to the shop, shoved all three car seats in the station wagon, and tried to continue with our day. The  belt tensioner was deemed the culprit and was replaced. Sigh. So far so good. We’ll see how tomorrow goes when we leave the house! OK, enough about serpentine belts. Hopefully, I will never have to write about them again!

EG (5 yrs old):

EG completed week 25 of Sonlight’s Core K. We started The Wonderful Wizard of Oz this week. Both EG and the Z-man are loving it! The original illustrations in the book are wonderful. I discovered from the very beginning that the movie does not resemble the book, and something tells me that this will be the case throughout. Did you know that Dorothy’s shoes are not ruby? They’re silver!  It turns out that ruby slippers look more flashy in technicolor! And do you know what Kansas is like? It’s gray. Everything’s gray. I guess that’s the main reason the movie starts out in black&white/sepia….to contrast gray Kansas to the colorful land of Oz. Anyways, we are very much enjoying it, and EG briefs Daddy at suppertime on what we read.

In Sonlight’s Science K, we talked about density, gravity, and friction.  She did an experiment where she tried to predict whether various objects would float. We had a cork, a penny, an apple, a candle and an eraser. She only made a correct prediction for the cork. Our main experiment this week dealt with eggs. We had two eggs, one raw and the other hard-boiled. We spun the eggs and then stopped them. The raw egg was supposed to start spinning again. Thankfully, it worked perfectly, especially since the Z-man got the eggs mixed up in the beginning, and we didn’t know which was which.  They also took turns trying to squeeze the raw egg with their hands in an attempt to break it. We learned that an egg is designed in such a way that makes it very difficult to break in that manner! Our science time ended with a hard-boiled egg snack. BTW, I know I had promised pics of our moldy bread experiment from last week. Well, it seems that the preservatives in our bread have prevented mold from forming in a timely fashion. It was the cheap stuff that I’m assuming has the same shelf life as Velveeta. Yes, I’m hanging my head in shame.

EG worked on the 7 addition family this week in Rod&Staff Math 1. She did great on her first two speed drills this week. She even had time to spare. However, today was the first time the 7 family was included in the speed drill. Well, she finished all but one problem, but she got two answers wrong. This travesty precipitated tears, drama, and “I hate speed drills!” I wonder from where her perfectionism comes? Hmmm…. Let’s just say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!

In reading, she read The Big Balloon Race and The Fire Cat. She’s now working on the chapter book The Sword in the Tree. We have half of a lesson left in The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading. I can’t believe we finally made it through the book. It’s been two years!! I couldn’t ask for her reading to be any better at this point. In a few weeks, we will probably start Sonlight’s Intermediate Readers 2. She’s also asking to read Magic Tree House books.  She read two of them a couple months ago, and she has a few on audio CD. Last night I bought a huge lot of them off of ebay for a very good price. She’s going to be so surprised! She can read till her heart’s content! The books aren’t really my favorite, but they do have interesting historical info in them, and she loves them and is motivated to read. So, that’s that.

We did a little bit of art this afternoon. We looked through the book Tico and the Golden Wings as suggested in Drawing with Children, and she found a bird in the book that she wanted to draw. I included a picture.

This week EG memorized Psalm 34:15, which says “The eyes of the LORD are on the righteous and His ears are attentive to their cry.” We returned to our Baptist Catechism this week with some substitutions from a catechism by Charles Spurgeon. She memorized the answer to “How may we escape the wrath and curse of God due to us for sin?” The answer (from Spurgeon) is “To escape the wrath and curse of God due to us for sin, we must believe in the Lord Jesus Christ, trusting alone to his blood and righteousness. This faith is attended by repentance for the past and leads to holiness in the future.”

In her Swim&Gym class at the Y this week, she had a couple of scares in the pool. She took her goggles this week, which helped tremendously. However, she went all the way under the water a couple of times, which led to coughing, sputtering, and tears. I let the instructor handle it, and afterwards, I praised her for being brave enough to get back in the water. Courage, my dear! Just like the cowardly lion!

AZ (3 years old):

“Mommy, can I please do whatever I want?”

“No, dear. Mommy doesn’t want you to grow up to be a fool. But thank you for asking nicely!”

The Z-man is still improving in Operation Potty Training. Praise the Lord for that! There were no accidents this week other than a couple of wet mornings.

He continued to work through Get Ready for the Code this week with the letter m. I included a sample of his work. He also worked with the Lauri pegs and number cards this week.

He finished memorizing the second commandment, which says “You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.” He also started working on question 10 of the Baptist Catechism which asks “How many persons are there in the Godhead?”

The instructors at his sister’s Swim&Gym class let him participate during the entire gym time. They were playing kickball, and they wanted to even out the teams. He did great and got a home run. I think he’s going to be the athlete in the family!

SA (21 months):

Little Man finally got a hair cut! His hair looks a little butchered because he didn’t quite make it through. He sat in my lap and ate dum-dums. Towards the end, however, he became rather upset that his fingers were getting hairy. Dum-Dum sticky fingers + loose hair = traumatized toddler. His hair still looks much better than it did, so I’m not going to complain too much.

Little Man is still doing great in his toddler bed. We’ve discovered that when he’s ready to go to bed, he wants somebody….anybody….to tuck him in….right then. A couple of nights he drug the Z-man by the shirt into his room so his brother would tuck him in bed. I guess he was tired of waiting on Mommy and Daddy to get with the program.

Me:

I don’t think anything particularly exciting happened to me this week. I know pregnant women can sometimes have bad memories; however, my hubby can’t remember anything special happening either. So there you go….. Oh, Oh, I got one! Once this week I had to slow down very quickly at an intersection because I didn’t realize soon enough that I was supposed to turn. EG then asked, “Hey! Who pushed us?” I was then able to explain inertia and make connections to the spinning egg in our science experiment. OK, so it wasn’t special or exciting and it affected her more than me, but that’s all I got…….

