How many kids does it take to clean a television? Is this considered child labor?

Note: Any of the pictures can be enlarged by clicking on them.

EG (5 yrs old):

EG completed week 26 of Sonlight’s Core K. We’re still working through The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. The Wicked Witch of the West is finally dead, and they’re headed back to the Emerald City. Not to sound morbid or anything, but so far there have been 42 decapitations in the book. EG just says “Ewww” and turns her nose up. The Z-man (who listens to this book most of the time) gets a little more excited about it. He’s all about destroying the bad guys. We also read the story of David & Goliath this week. There’s another head to add to the count. Moving on….

In Sonlight’s Science K, we read about magnets, electricity, and light. (An aside: In the section on light in the Usborne encyclopedia, it had a blurb about how some people are colorblind and some animals see only in shades in gray. After I read that, EG said “You mean like foxes?” I said that I wasn’t sure. She said “Well, that’s what I read in that animal book that I read from sometimes.” She was talking about the Christian Liberty Nature Reader Book K. She usually reads one lesson per week from it. I got the book and looked at the lesson on foxes. There was one sentence about them being colorblind. It was lesson 6, which means that she read it last September. I couldn’t believe that she remembered that! On one hand it’s wonderful. On the other hand…well…it’s kinda scary!) Now back to science. She did a couple of experiments with “soaking up water”. One experiment was using water to separate the colors from felt-tip pens. The other dealt with the strength of different materials that soak up water. We were supposed to see if the materials could support a marble while wet. On the demonstration video, the marble quickly broke through a piece of tissue. Well, wouldn’t you know, we couldn’t get that marble to break through anything! Remember how a couple of weeks we tried to grow mold on crappy bread? Well, we still don’t have mold on that preservative-laden piece of wet bread. Sigh. However, this week I think we had the opposite problem. Our paper products are too good! Probably too much lotion in the Kleenex tissue. We even tried bathroom tissue. Who knew Cottonelle single-ply was so sturdy!! Oh well! It doesn’t matter. We all had a great time. However, Little Man was rather upset that I wouldn’t give him the marble.

In Rod&Staff Math 1, EG continued to practice the 7 family and started on simple word problems. She’ll start subtraction next week. She did okay on her speed drills. She didn’t finish either one of them, but she only answered one problem incorrectly. Beforehand I had a little chat with her about the purpose of speed drills and that there’s no need to flip out if she doesn’t finish or misses a couple of problems. I told her it was more important to get the right answer than to answer all of them and make mistakes. Well, I guess our little talk worked. The world didn’t come to an end this week like it did last week!

In art this week, EG tried her hand at the Leo the Lion lesson in Drawing with Children. I think she did quite well, although I’m suspicious that Leo is actually Tweety Bird in disguise. I included a pic. I think next week we may spend some time talking about different shapes of eyes. She also worked through a few paintings in Art Fraud Detective. She really likes this book. I bought it last fall when our art museum was in the process of moving to a new location and everything was deeply discounted in the bookstore.

EG memorized Joshua 23:14 which says “You know with all your heart and soul that not one of all the good promises the LORD your God gave you has failed. Every promise has been fulfilled; not one has failed.” She also worked on memorizing the answer to question 93 of the Baptist Catechism, which asks “What is faith in Jesus Christ?” The answer is “Faith in Jesus Christ is saving grace, whereby we receive and rest upon him alone for salvation, trusting him to forgive our sins, and guide us to eternal joy, on the basis of his divine power and atoning death.”

In her Gym&Swim class, she had great improvements in putting her face and head in the water. Her teacher said that she’s still very tense in water, and she’s trying to work with her on relaxing. EG loves this class. I think it’s the highlight of her week.

AZ (3 yrs old):

In Operation Potty Training, I see much more than the light at the end of the tunnel. I’m seeing the end of the tunnel!! The Z-man is finally telling us when he needs to go potty! (insert Hallelujah Chorus) Woohoo!

The Z-man continued to work through Get Ready for the Code this week. He’s on the letter k. He also did his usual stuff in his Kumon workbooks. He loves cutting with scissors!

In his memory work, he memorized the third commandment “You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.” He continued to work on question 10 of the Baptist Catechism which asks “How many persons are there in the Godhead?” The answer is “There are three persons in the Godhead: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit; and these three are one God, the same in essence, equal in power and glory.” He almost has it….

He finished his session of swim lessons this week and received his report card (or according to him, his insurance card). He’ll start the next session next week. The teachers in EG’s Gym&Swim class also let him participate again in the gym portion of her class. One of EG’s teachers is his swim teacher. I think she’s his number one fan.

SA (22 months old):

I hope this is not true, but something tells me that Little Man will be my one child that I will need to take to a doctor to have some foreign object removed from his nose. A few weeks ago he put a kernel of corn in his nose, and this week I was suspicious that he tried it again. We’re really going to have to watch him during mealtimes. He sits right beside me at the table, but I’ve been tempted to move him to the end of the table because he seems to enjoy poking me with his fork during supper. Maybe I should move to the end of the table.

One evening while the Z-man was at swimming lessons with Daddy, I noticed that the house was eerily quiet while I was cooking supper. I looked in the living room and discovered EG reading a book on the couch and Little Man was trying to copy her. Very cute! BTW, his book is The Story of Ferdinand. It was probably the book that came off the book shelf easily.

Me:

This week I made this black-eyed pea soup in my crockpot. I heard about it on the Well-Trained Mind boards. It was SO good, and it was especially good with some Frank’s Hot Sauce thrown in. Yummy.

I had two outings this week without my children. I think that could be a record! I went to an Usborne party last weekend (bought an art appreciation book), and on Friday I went to a Tom Conlon (verty talented artist!) concert at our church. I didn’t quite know what to do with myself. For once, I wasn’t the last person out of the church parking lot.

