We had beautiful warm weather this week! We took our lunch to the park on Monday and soaked up the sunshine. One of my favorite parks is over in the next town. It’s small, but most of the equipment is accessible to Little Man, the other two don’t get bored with anything, and the tables are in the shade.

EG (5 yrs old):

EG finished up week 28 of Sonlight’s Core K and most of week 29. We’re trying to get ahead in our read-alouds because next week is going to be very busy for us. So we’re left with the three R’s and a little bit of science for next week. We finished The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Everybody loved it! The Z-man has been asking when we’re doing the “next Wizard of Oz”. In Science K, we talked about how telephones, microwaves, and car engines work. For an experiment, she filled a glass full of water, placed cardboard on top, and turned it over to see if the cardboard would stick. It worked like a charm!

In math, EG worked on the 3 subtraction family. (I interrupt this regularly scheduled program to announce that my baby girl has just lost her first tooth at 3:44 PM on friday, March 12th while eating a fudge pop!! She’s all smiles….and a little chocolatey! Now back to our regular program.) Oh, who cares about math now! She did great in math this week! She just lost a tooth!

In reading, she finished The Sword in the Tree, read Wagon Wheels, and read half of Titanic…Lost and Found. I cried like a baby through the Titanic book. I would blame it on my being pregnant, but the truth is that I would have cried regardless. Sigh.

We didn’t do much structured art this week. We read another book about Van Gogh, she played with fingerpaints, and she tried to draw Ping the duck from The Story About Ping.

This week she memorized John 15:9a,11, which says “As the Father has loved Me, so I have loved you….I have told you this so that My joy may be in you and your joy may be complete.” She started working on question 94 of the Baptist Catechism which asks “What is repentance unto Life?” The answer is “Repentance unto life is a saving grace, by which a sinner, out of a true sense of his sin, and apprehension of the mercy of God in Christ, does, with grief and hatred of his sin, turn from it to God, with full purpose of, and endeavor after, new obedience.”

EG had her first soccer game last weekend. She played really well and almost scored a goal. I included a picture of the ball hitting the goal post! Due to snow/rain over the past few weeks, her team has only had one practice so far. She has her second game tonight.

AZ (3 yrs old):

The Z-man worked on the letter t in Get Ready for the Code this week. He only has one more letter and he’ll be finished with this book and ready for the next one, Get Set for the Code.

In memory work, he memorized commandments 5-8, “Honor your father and your mother. You shall not murder. You shall not commit adultery. You shall not steal.” He worked on memorizing question 10 of the Baptist Catechism which asks “What are the decrees of God?” The answer is “The decrees of God are his eternal purpose, according to the counsel of his will, whereby for his own glory, he has foreordained whatsoever comes to pass.”

The Z-man is doing great in swim lessons. The lifeguard said he’s an excellent swimmer for his age. He has the stroke down, but he needs to work on taking a few strokes between breaths. He is also still doing great in potty training. He usually wakes up wet about one morning a week. Other than that, he hasn’t had an accident in a month. I’m starting to trust that he will tell me when he needs to go potty.

SA (22 months):

Little Man has been Mr. Cranky Britches this week. He’s still fiercely independent. It’s his way or the highway, or so he thinks. He conquered all of the slides at the park by himself. Now, if he could have only coped with the 2-yr old bully that was pushing him around at the park. Momma had to step in on that one.

Me:

I’m still working on my things-to-do-before-baby-arrives list. I finally have everything written down, so that will keep me on track. I had my final guitar lesson this week. I plan to start back when baby is a couple months old. That’s probably crazy of me, but I’m stubborn like that.

