Look, here’s the deal. I’m exhausted, I’m grumpy, and my feet are cold. The toilets need cleaning, the floor needs mopping, and the laundry is mocking me. All I really want to do is put on some thick socks and eat popcorn for supper. As a result, I’m abandoning my traditional format for our weekly report this week to make it short and sweet. I can’t promise that this won’t happen again in the future.

Sassafras (1st grade):

Sassafras continued her study of Bronze Age Greece this week. We read more Greek myths and more about the gods and goddesses of Olympus. We laughed every time Eurystheus jumped into his big brass pot during the labors of Heracles.

She finished Rod & Staff Grade 1 math and started Grade 2.

She finished two steps in All About Spelling Level 2. We skipped spelling today to go to the park.

In science, she got a “handible on her mandible” as she studied the skeletal system.

In art, we read about Michelangelo and mixed white paint with different colors to understand the art element of value. She made handprint butterflies with all of the pastel paint colors she created. We skipped Drawing With Children today to go to the park.

She memorized Psalm 86:9, James 1:12, and question 114 of the Baptist Catechism.

She started her basketball fundamentals class at the Y.

She is going through her piano primer books at an astonishing pace. I’m buying more books tomorrow.

Z-man (K4):

The Z-man continued to do well on his reading lessons this week. He’s blending his CVC words very well. I may let him try a Bob book next week.

He started his Family Hoops class at the Y with Daddy.

He engaged in many activities that elicited from me my all too common response of “Now, what made you think that was a good idea?”

Little Man (2 yrs old):

Little Man had trouble coping with the fact that he’s not the center of the universe. He’s still in the denial stage.

Doodlebug (8 months):

Doodlebug is now sitting up very well! Yay! She’s catching up fast! That’s the good news. The bad news is that since she’s still refusing to eat solids, she’s waking up every 3 hours at night. Maybe the slight annoying headache I’ve had for the past four days due to lack of sleep is contributing to my current grumpy disposition.

Me:

I slowly made my way through the first three episodes of Empire-Medici: Godfathers of the Renaissance via instant Netflix. Maybe the last episode will be good to watch with my popcorn supper. I highly recommend it. Of course, if you currently have a child that isn’t sleeping through the night, it may be wise to sleep instead. Do as I say, not as I do.

