And now for the rest of the story……

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

Sassafras tackled all of her subjects this week. In history, we studied the rise and spread of Islam. We built a model mosque using papier-mache for the dome. (If you knew how I break out into a cold sweat during any craft project that involves more than scissors, glue, and construction paper, you would be extremely impressed that I even considered taking on papier-mache. I’m a craft-phobe. I don’t even like to glue on googly-eyes.) In geography, Sassafras, with the help of Z-man, painted the salt-dough map from a couple of weeks ago. (I gave them the paint and walked away.) We rounded out our history by reading Aladdin and the Enchanted Lamp.

 In literature she started Baby Island by Carol Ryrie Brink. The paper dolls (see pic at top) that came in the comprehension guide have been a HUGE hit so far! In art and music, she completed notebook pages on Vivaldi and Cimabue. On piano, she finally made it to the key of G. In science, we started our study about the earth. In handwriting she started cursive, which she LOVES, LOVES, LOVES! Spelling and grammar this week were mainly a review of last year. She finished up her third week of Latin in Prima Latina. She’s loving the Latin prayer. This week we added the line “Pleni sunt caeli et terra gloria Tua” (Heaven & earth are full of Your Glory). Since I decided on the ecclesiastical Latin pronunciation, we’re having to suppress our resident weni widi wiki classical Latin snob (aka Daddy). Daddy, resistance is futile. 

Z-man (Kindergarten):

This week we finished reading The Boxcar Children in Sonlight’s Core A. He wants to start the next book in the series, but I’m leaving that as an incentive to develop his own reading skills. I let him start Rod&Staff’s Grade 1 math (only half a lesson per day) along with the Singapore Earlybird math. Math seems to be his favorite subject right after science. I also started Literature Pockets: Nursery Rhymes with the Z-man this week. He was so excited! The rhyme was “I saw a little bird go hop, hop, hop…”. His little bird puppet has been all over the house and I’m hoping it doesn’t die an early death.

 Z-man's kangaroo

Little Man (3 yrs old):

My little preschool buddy had a good week. I’ve worked out my schedule so I can give him 30 minutes of my undivided attention every morning for “school”. (Well it may be a little divided at times since Doodlebug is usually sitting on my lap either trying to color on his book or color on me or, if either of those fail, trying to eat the marker. In the end, you gotta do what works.) Little Man is working on the recognition of lower case letters and counting. We spent a good bit of our time reading, although we’re not getting in much variety yet because he’s still insisting on his 3 favorites almost every day: Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, The Gingerbread Man, and Pete’s a Pizza. Even Doodlebug can pull Chicka Chicka Boom Boom off the shelf.

I’m still waiting to hear when his speech  therapy will start back. Hopefully, I won’t have to completely rewrite my schedule. He had a small victory last night with “bedtime snack”. It usually comes out “bedtime gack” and I’m always helping him say it correctly. Well, last night he said it on his own and was so excited! He knew it was right when he said it. He started jumping up and down and saying, “I did it! I did it! Bedtime SSSNNNack! Bedtime SSSNNNack!”

Doodlebug (16 months):

Meet Miss Cranky Pants! Yes, the poor thing has more teeth coming in, and boy has she let everyone know all about it!   Whew! On the plus side, she was the only kid who stayed in her bed every night this week. It’s exhausting work being a toddler.

 

Me:

I used papier-mache AND took all the kids grocery shopping. Am I da bomb or what? Ha! Actually, I can’t take any of the credit. I prayed each morning for the strength and ability to organize our day without driving anybody crazy, including myself. Thankfully, the Lord’s mercies are new every morning.

