Week four of school is complete and my sanity is still intact. Life is good.

In light of our recent study on Medieval cathedrals, we decided to take a short field trip to see the neo-gothic style chapel at Duke University. Actually, the kids have been to the chapel several times, so in reality this was just our excuse to get out of the house and have lunch with Daddy. 🙂 I did, however, mumble a few things about stained glass and the shape of cathedrals, and, in the true spirit of a field trip, snapped a few pictures and took a short video while the organ was playing.

   

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

In history this week, Sassafras learned about Charles Martel, Pepin the Short, and Charlemagne. For a project, she made a little Medieval cottage out of a lunch sack. In the end, the cottage became the house for all of her paper dolls for her literature book Baby Island. I was going to have her make a shield with a coat of arms. However, the Z-man was so pumped at the idea of making a shield that I just let him do it instead. Sassafras also read about King Arthur this week.

Math and language arts carried on as usual with nothing particularly interesting to report. In science we studied the flood, the ice age, glaciers, and icebergs. In art and music, we continued our study of Vivaldi and started a three-week study of Giotto di Bondone. She didn’t do an art project this week, but she did a lot of drawing on her own. I’ve been trying to convince her that it’s okay to draw something other than “Lone Tree in a Field of Flowers with Bird Flying Overhead on a Sunny Day”.  It’s kinda become a little joke between us. She finally agreed and drew “Castle Next to Lone Tree and Flower on a Sunny Day”. I guess someone shot down the bird.

  

Z-man (Kindergarten):

This week we started The Apple and the Arrow as a read-aloud in Sonlight’s Core A. I think this is a really hard book for a 5 year old to understand, so I’ve been giving a lot of commentary as we go through it. It must be working, because by the time I got to the part about William Tell shooting the apple off of his son’s head, the Z-man’s eyes were as big as saucers and he was begging me to read more!

For his nursery rhyme pocket this week, he worked on “Little Miss Muffet”. Just for clarification, Little Miss Muffet is not to be confused with her second cousin, Little Miss Muffin….who sat on her puffin…eating her Christmas pie.

 

Little Man (3 yrs old): 

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but one of Little Man’s favorite songs is the first movement of Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. He likes to pretend that he’s directing the orchestra, and he’ll jump around all over the living room waving his arms like crazy. Anyway, this week I was trying to get him to tell me things that start with the letter B. He said, “Buh, buh, buh, buuuuuhh” to the tune of the first four notes of Beethoven’s Fifth. I couldn’t argue with him. Maybe that’s a sign that we’re succeeding in creating a musical household!

Little Man finally parted with The Gingerbread Man this week to focus on Jack and the Beanstalk.  There’s nothing like being chased by a 3 yr old who is scowling at you and saying in his Fat Albert voice, “Fee Fi Fo Fo! Big Giant!! Grrrr!!” Oh yes, he does a great Fat Albert impersonation. But we’ll leave that for some other time…..

Doodlebug (17 months):

Doodlebug ravaged the countryside with a plastic hammer, a Playmobil sword, and a banana. I told her siblings that it’s in their best interest for their heads to not be at her level. It was only a couple of weeks ago that she tried to join the ranks of Miss Scarlet and Colonel Mustard by whacking Little Man in the head….with a candlestick….in the hall.

On the way home from the Chapel this week, I put the Z-man in charge of keeping her awake until we got home. You know how it is. All they need is a 10 minute power nap, and then they think naptime is done for the day. Well, I looked in the rear view mirror and saw that she was sound asleep. The Z-man was holding one of her eyes open. He tried.

Me:

Our Office Depot finished up their Star Teacher week last weekend. My friend and I went for a free breakfast and 20% off anything in the store. I got a 4×3  whiteboard to decorate my dining room. Yay! HGTV had better look out!

I officially started giving music lessons this week on piano and guitar. I think it’s going to be a very rewarding experience.  My guitar student has an electric guitar and…..uh….I don’t. So I had a crash course in electric guitars and amps this week so I will know how to get him out of Jimmy Hendrix mode….for now.  Hmmmm.

