This was a week of castles, milk jugs, investigations, the Toddler Boogie, and Beethoven.

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

In history this week, Sassafras studied castles, knights, and the feudal system. Fun, fun! The Z-man and I worked with her to make a model Medieval castle. I also made knight helmets for the boys out of milk jugs. (Yes, they were in heaven. I put a picture down in Little Man’s section.)  For literature she started reading the Classic Starts version of  The Adventures of Robin Hood.

Sassafras had a fun time in science this week. We studied igneous rock and sedimentary rock, and we talked a little bit about fossils as they relate to sedimentary rock. We did an experiment in which we tried to grow alum crystals both at room temperature and in the fridge. This experiment is supposed to demonstrate the fact that large crystals grow when magma slowly cools to form intrusive rock and that little or no crystals form when magma cools quickly (as in extrusive rock). We made a big alum crystal at room temperature! We also played around with a  rock kit that has different samples of igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic rock. Finally, we used plaster of paris to make a “fossil” of a sea shell.

   

In language arts, Sassafras worked on different ways to spell the sound /k/, started copying and illustrating a poem about the months of the year, and worked on her cursive. In math she continued subtracting three digit numbers. Latin was a review week. So far we’ve learned 25 Latin vocabulary words. (Yes, I said we since I’m a Latin newbie, too.) In music and art, we finished our study of Vivaldi and Giotto. Her art project was a fresco that was supposed to show emotion (like Giotto portrayed in his paintings). She drew herself being happy.

Z-man (Kindergarten):

The Z-man really enjoyed our read-aloud this week. My Father’s Dragon was a huge success! We read the whole book this week, even though Sonlight schedules it over two weeks. In science, we did some activities with plants. The Z-man calls them “investigations”.  We started a terrarium, covered a leaf of a plant with foil to see the effects of the lack of sunlight, and made leaf prints from leaves in our backyard.

The Z-man finished Explode the Code book 2 this week. He also made a new nursery rhyme pocket for “To Market, To Market”. He did the same art project as his sister. His fresco shows him eating his supper and Little Man not eating his supper. That’s our coffee pot and sink in the back.  I have to say this is a very realistic painting……Little Man rarely eats his supper. Sigh.

  

Little Man (3 years old):

Little Man ate his supper two days this week. Pizza and chicken strips (aka “chicken bips”). He asks me every day if we’re having chicken bips for supper. About once a week I say “yes”.

 

Doodlebug (17 months):

Doodlebug spent her week dancing to “She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain” and “Skip to My Lou” as belted out by the LeapFrog Fridge Farm Magnets.

Me:

I think I made some great progress on the piano this week. I’m much faster at the chromatic progressions that I practiced for two weeks. My teacher thought it would be a good idea to pick a piece of music that would take me a long time to master. We chose “Fur Elise” since I already know the first section. Of course, that’s the easy part. Everybody knows the first section! Well, I’m going to give it the old college try….measure by measure.   Meanwhile, I’m still slowly working through Debbie Denke’s The Aspiring Jazz Pianist, and I’m about to start book 2 of Bastien’s Piano for Adults.

Meanwhile meanwhile (I don’t know how I have any time for “meanwhiles”) I started Nancy Pearcey’s book Saving Leonardo, taught piano and guitar, carved up some milk jugs, beat my husband at Clue on the Wii, tried to turn down the volume on the Fridge Farm magnets on the sly, did all the laundry (vast improvement from last week), and drank lots of coffee.

