Today we took a field trip to Emerald Hollow Mine in Hiddenite, NC with some fellow homeschoolers. I planned this trip to go along with our recent study of rocks and minerals in science. On Wednesday the weather wasn’t looking all that promising with a 60% chance of rain in the forecast, but I was willing to give it a go. Well, the radar this morning offered little hope with a huge system of rain and storms moving across the southeast. The two-hour trip to Hiddenite was mostly in the rain. However, by the time we got there, it was only drizzling. We each worked through two buckets of ore on the sluiceway and then listened to a very informative and interesting presentation on rocks & minerals. The sun came out as we were eating lunch, and we were then able to go searching for gemstones in the creek. I had prayed that the Lord would be gracious to us with the weather and that we would all have a good time regardless, and He answered prayers in such a wonderful way. We had a great time with great friends, and we found some cool gemstones!

      

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

In history this week Sassafras studied the Hundred Years’ War, Joan of Arc, and the Black Death. She desperately wanted to supplement by watching some “Sleeping Beauty”-type show that was on Disney. In the middle of her handwriting, she kept sneaking a peek at the TV. She said, “Can’t I go in the living room and watch that show? It’s medieval! I just went in there, and I saw a peasant!!” Go finish your handwriting, dear.

And truth be told, she really does need to be working on her cursive. She’s actually doing quite well, but she got confused this week and switched a little s with a d. And how did this manifest itself? A card she made for daddy started off “To sassy.” OK, so we all had to laugh at that one!

Sassafras finished Rod & Staff Math 2 this week, learned the “drop the e” rule in spelling, studied mountains in science, read half of More Stories From Grandma’s Attic, and read about Jacob & Esau in her Bible study. I included a pic she drew of the story of Jacob’s ladder.In art and music, we continued our study of the Limbourg Brothers and Johann Sebastian Bach. She and the Z-man each drew a castle for their art project.

 

Z-man (Kindergarten):

The Z-man finally graduated from the “silent E” section in his reading lessons. Woohoo! He finished the first I Can Read It! book in Sonlight.  He’s super excited about starting book 2 next week! In math he worked on addition facts that add to four and practiced counting to 100. He finished a nursery rhyme pocket for “Diddle, Diddle Dumpling, My Son John.” For our read-aloud, we read Johnny Appleseed.

The Z-man had a great time at the mine today. Boys just love mud. Once, I saw him slip and head down the muddy hill on his belly like he was on a water slide. “I’m okay! I’m okay!”

Little Man (3 yrs old):

Little Man really hit the jackpot at the sluiceway today. I think he found more gemstones than anybody. However, he wasn’t too crazy about falling in the creek. He also had a hard time getting up the muddy bank.  He’d climb and then slide back down. Once he said excitedly, “I almost there, Mommy!” Down he went, and the tears came. Daddy had to give him a boost. Bless his heart. I guess not all boys like the mud.

 

Doodlebug (18 months):

Doodlebug had her 18-month checkup this week. She made a point to scowl at anyone who came within three feet of her.  Actually, scowling, complaining, and getting into trouble was her modus operandi this week. When she wasn’t holding on to my leg screaming, she was climbing on the table and grabbing pencils, scissors, markers, and anything else she knew she wasn’t supposed to have. She never missed an opportunity to go in the bathroom and steal all the toothbrushes. Yes, I was ready to pull my hair out. She was still going strong at bedtime. We try to give her some chill-out time in her brace before we put her to bed each night, but she decided she’d rather walk around.  This child stops for nothing!! I’m tired!!

Me:

I played in a creek. That was pretty much the highlight of my week. Really!!

What else happened this week? Well, I pulled Doodlebug off the table. I pulled Doodlebug out of the bathroom. I returned toothbrushes back to the bathroom and shut the door….again…and again. I pulled Doodlebug off the table. I took pencils away from Doodlebug. I took markers away from Doodlebug. I wiped marker ink off Doodlebug’s face and arms, the table, the….. Oh, I think you get the point. And just as I thought I had Doodlebug settled and out of trouble, I had to launch an inquisition in an attempt to find out why there was poop in the hallway. It turns out the culprit was Mr. Nobody. Can I go play in the creek next week, too?

