Welcome to our world! This week it consisted of Pinocchio, bad hairstyles, a “hontid hows”, a foot warmer, soupy mac-n-cheese, and milk jug worldviews according to a toddler.

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

In history this week, Sassafras studied early Portuguese explorers and Christopher Columbus and completed some corresponding notebook pages. I would like the say that we’re getting the hang of this notebooking thing, but it takes me forever to figure out exactly how we should arrange the pages.  I’m so not creative. In the end, it turned out okay, though. We also read about the Renaissance artist Sandro Botticelli. She colored a picture taken from his painting Primavera.

In science this week we read about the Grand Canyon and caves, finishing up our Planet Earth book. We set up an experiment to grow stalactites and stalagmites. I’ll post pics if and when we’re successful. We’ll start Our Universe next week. I’m also considering starting notebooking for science. Either somebody stop me or make me another pot of strong coffee.

In Latin, we learned a few proper nouns and started learning the Table Blessing. In language arts, she finished her illustrated book of The Year poem (I included a pic of the October page), finished All About Spelling Level 3, and butted heads with me over summary narrations from 101 Dalmatians in Writing With Ease 2. Let me just say that summarizing and focusing on the key information in a passage is VERY difficult for her. Her tendency is to either give too many details or give the details that aren’t important. Sigh. For literature, she started reading Pinocchio. I have the VP literature guide, and on a whim, I decided to let her do one of the writing assignments from the guide. She was supposed to describe what happened in two chapters. I posted a pic below. Other than needing to place a few missed commas and fix a misspelled word, it was actually quite coherent. Many details, but coherent.

In art & music we finished up our study about the Limbourg Brothers and Johann Sebastian Bach. She was supposed to watercolor a castle in the style of the Limbourg Brothers. However, I’m rather burned out on castles, so I had her make a calendar page for November instead.

     

Z-man (Kindergarten):

The Z-man did well in his reading this week. We finished the section in our reading book about different ways to spell long i.  In our read-alouds, we read about the missionary Amy Carmichael and how she helped the temple children in India. We also finished The Family Under the Bridge. In history we talked about the crazy hairstyles of French women in the 1700s, and in science we read about reptiles. In geography he learned how to read a map grid. His math continued to focus on addition facts adding to 5. The Z-man also completed the same art project as his sister.

The Z-man is super pumped about Halloween and has been counting down the days. He wrote a warning sign for the front door. I included a pic of his first draft. 🙂

 

Little Man (3 yrs old):

Little Man’s speech therapist said that he will likely graduate from therapy by the end of the year. Woohoo! A year ago he only spoke a few words that only his family could understand. Now that we’ve got this speech thing worked out, we just need to find a way to keep him in his own bed. Maybe I should look on the bright side. With the arrival of cold weather, I should be welcoming my little foot warmer. 🙂

 

Doodlebug (19 months old):

Doodlebug is growing up too fast. When she drags the crayons and a coloring book onto the living room floor and starts coloring, it’s pretty clear that she has left babyhood behind. Sniff.

  

Me:

As I’m starting my third book by Nancy Pearcey, I’m left wondering what worldview was behind the design of this milk jug. It’s obviously not one very fond of children pouring their own milk.  And you can forget about eyeballing how much milk is needed for mac-n-cheese. Good grief! The floodgates opened!! Doodlebug, on the other hand, is a huge fan of the new design. I can fill a sippy cup in a nanosecond flat. And as Daddy pointed out, that pretty much sums up the essence of her worldview. Refill, Mommy. Now.

 

