Here’s what we’ve been up to this week. Just the facts, Ma’am.

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

History this week focused on the artists of the Northern Renaissance, with special attention paid to Jan Van Eyck, Albrecht Durer, and Pieter Bruegel. After Thanksgiving we’ll start studying the Reformation. So this week we decided to get a head start by watching the Torchlighter video about William Tyndale. I LOVE Torchlighter videos!

In science this week, Sassafras learned about galaxies, asteroids, and comets. To supplement our studies, I pulled out the appropriate space-themed Magic School Bus video. It was buried amid our large collection of VHS tapes. (Yes, we’re dinosaurs.)

Language arts, math, and Latin were fairly routine this week–writing a letter, narration, dictation, spelling rules, multiplication tables, and Latin adjectives. Ho hum….. I guess I should mention that I let her watch a few math videos from Kahn Academy this week. Lots of cool stuff over there! I even found some appropriate art history videos on Van Eyck and Durer.

OK, it sounds like we just watched a lot of videos this week…..hmmm…

Today was our monthly Africa enrichment class. We learned about Nigeria in West Africa and ate some chin chin. I always do the music part of the class, and this week I shared with them about talking drums. After we got home, I found some interesting…..wait for it…..videos (here and here) on youtube.

Apart from our schoolwork, we’re still trying to finish out the soccer season around here. Sassafras’s team played in a festival last weekend and won both of their games. They only have one make-up game to go, and I’m hoping it all will be done next week. Basketball, here we come.

 

Z-man (Kindergarten):

In school this week, the Z-man did the usual–math, handwriting, phonics, etc. Geography was about islands and volcanoes, and history was about Victorian England. We read Dolphin Adventure to accompany our science lessons about sharks, dolphins, and whales.

The Z-man started his basketball class at the Y this week. They have a program for 5-6 year olds to learn the basics of basketball. I’m sure he did fine, but I can’t say for sure since I spent the entire time chasing Doodlebug all through the gym.

Little Man (3 yrs old):

Little Man came home with a list of “sh” and “ch” words from speech therapy this week. Every practice we had this week ended with “Mommy, I can’t say that.” Thankfully, he doesn’t get down about it. He was very proud of the turkey he made at speech therapy.

Doodlebug (20 months):

So I walked into the bathroom yesterday and discovered Doodlebug standing on the step stool at the toilet. She was trying to go potty like her brother. So, I got the bright idea of pulling out the little potty for her. At first she acted like she knew exactly what she was doing, and 45 seconds after she sat down, she went!! However, she then refused to put her pants back on and proceeded to carry the potty all around the house–butt naked. Every 3 feet she’d stop and sit on the potty. It took me at least a half hour to get her dressed. In the meantime, she peed on the bathroom floor. Sigh.

Of course, it’s possible she was just delirious with fever. The poor baby has been sick with the croup this week. The croup is not our friend.

 

Me:

I bought some clogs from Lands’ End this week, and I about broke my foot today. My foot sort of slipped to the outside, and all of my weight went down on it. I thought it was going to be okay, but tonight I’m hobbling around. We’ll see what tomorrow holds.

In other news, I’m loving the Clove & Cinnamon bar that’s in my Scentsy warmer this week. It’s an aromatic reminder that the holidays are right around the corner! We have big plans next week for the Thanksgiving weekend, so it will be a couple of weeks until our next report. Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Advent!

