We ushered in the Christmas season with a trip to the NC mountains for the Thanksgiving weekend. Considering the fact that last year we had to throw out our Christmas tree the second week of December, we decided this year that we would make sure our tree was fresh! In addition to cutting down our own tree, we also went to Linville Caverns and The Blowing Rock. It was lots of fun, and the weather was great! I’ve included a little slide show with some pics from our trip. I’m going high-tech! I hope it works for everyone.Thanks to my friend for some of the pics!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

In history this week, Sassafras studied Martin Luther. In addition to our TOG book about Luther, we did extra reading in Hero Tales and watched Where Luther Walked (Somewhat dry, but it hit the high points. It was nice to see the actual locations).

In science we covered meteroids and an introduction into our solar system. I had to go into a big lecture on the difference between meteoroids, meteors, and meteorites. I’m a nerd like that.

Latin consisted of learning a few adverbs and the last part of the Table Blessing. For literature, she finished Little Town on the Prairie and started These Happy Golden Years. She also started Winnie the Pooh. Math was….excruciating. Let’s just leave it at that.

For our Africa study, we’ve been reading Ryan and Jimmy: And the Well in Africa That Brought Them Together. It’s a very inspiring story so far!

In other news, Sassafras finally finished soccer the Tuesday before Thanksgiving. Her U8 team finished in first place in their division for the season. Woohoo! Now we’re into basketball. She has had two practices, and her first game is in the morning. It should be interesting.

   

Z-man (Kindergarten):

The Z-man continued to work on the 6 addition family in math. He also started learning how to read a calendar this week. In geography he began learning about deserts. His reading is coming along great! This week we practiced words with a short oo sound. I think things are starting to click with him. Yay! For our read-aloud we started Doctor Dolittle. I remember reading this book two years ago to Sassafras. The Z-man listened in then, and he loved this book even at the age of 3.

In science we started studying plants and set up some kidney beans to sprout. I’m sure at any given time you’ll find a homeschool family sprouting kidney beans on their kitchen counter somewhere in the world. I guess it’s our turn. 🙂

Little Man (3 yrs old):

Little Man caught Doodlebug’s croup virus the Saturday before Thanksgiving. He didn’t develop the croup, however. His fever just went through the roof! 104.5! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a temp that high around here! The Z-man also got a bit of it. I’m glad it was outta here before we left for our trip!

We’ve done zero preschool around here this week. Sigh. Well, we are reading through Richard Scarry’s What Do People Do All Day?, but that’s about it. Next week will be better.

Doodlebug (20 months):

Doodlebug went through a couple weeks of potty confusion, but I think she has it all worked out now. I guess she had been spending too much time going potty with her brothers. I started sending her with her sister, and now we’ve got her turned around. 🙂 Strangely enough, even though I’m pretty sure she understands what’s she supposed to be doing, at this point she seems to think potty-time is for listening for trains. I think it’s because the first couple of times we did hear a train. Now she just sits down, puts her hand up to her ear, and signs for train. Hmmmm. Maybe I should have just left her standing.

 

Me:

On piano this week, I’m learning how to play Christmastime is Here. I only know the first part so far. I’ve also been watching some videos posted by Bob Kauflin of Sovereign Grace Ministries about playing piano in contemporary worship music. There are supposed to be three posted in total, but the third one hasn’t made it up yet. It’s very practical stuff: Worship Matters

