We took time this week to take a little nature walk near our house. We saw many pollen-laden Virginia pines (the nemesis of so many this time of year), interesting rocks, large areas of furry moss, and a bird’s nest (located by Sassafras). I included Sassafras’s and the Z-man’s nature sketches in their sections below. It’s funny, but pine trees always bring back the same memory from my childhood back in Mississippi. In the huge yard of the daycare where I stayed, there were several of what I guess were longleaf pines. Apparently raking was rarely done, because there always seemed to be a ton of pine straw piled up everywhere. We would build multi-room houses with walls of pine straw. We would also collect a huge pile of pine straw and jump into it from the top of the jungle gym.That was back in the good old days. (By the way, if you say “pines” with a strong southern accent, it sounds strangely like “ponds” in a midwestern accent, a fact that has caused a little confusion in the past between me and my husband.) Moving on from pine trees…..

 

Sassafras (2nd Grade):

History was a lot of fun this week: Paul Revere, the battles at Lexington and Bunker Hill, the Declaration of Independence, and the Liberty Bell. (Does anyone else tear up when reading about the Declaration of Independence? Sniff.) We’re also moving along in Johnny Tremain. The book was kinda slow at first, but now the story is getting so good that I’m tempted to read ahead. (Not that Sassafras will let me do that!)

 

In science this week we finished up our study on weather by learning about various weather instruments and weather forecasting. I pulled a weather station out of the closest, and we’re hoping Daddy will install it soon. In other science-related news, we started some flower seeds indoors. We’ll see how it goes. Also, Sassafras, apparently inspired by reading Longfellow’s The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere, became a little poet herself, writing about owls and fruit bats.

   

Z-man (Kindergarten):

The Z-man has declared that he can read any Dr. Seuss book in the house, so on Wednesday I handed him the first Magic Treehouse book. He has finished that one and is halfway through book two. Love it!! I’m sure he’s missing a few words here and there, but he’s so excited about reading that I’m not going to get in his way. In math this week we continued to work with c-rods and read Life of Fred. We started reading The House at Pooh Corner as our read-aloud. I love Pooh Bear.

BTW, those are pajama pants on his head. He’s Jar-Jar from Star Wars.

  

Little Man (3 yrs old):

Little Man started the letter r is Explode the Code. He also started writing numbers from 11-20 in his Kumon workbook. He really enjoyed our nature walk this week and willingly helped push his sister’s stroller. Oddly enough, he thought the rocks were too dirty to pick up, but he didn’t think twice about grabbing every inchworm he saw. Poor little guys.

 

Doodlebug (2 yrs old):

It was a battle of the wills this week. I would tell her to do something, she would say no, and we’d have to come to an understanding–my understanding. Wash, rinse, repeat. Oh, the joys of being a toddler…and parenting one. 🙂

 

Me:

I’ve been getting a lot of good deals this week on used curriculum. I’m currently waiting on three packages. Other than history books and some odds and ends, I think the only major thing I have left to buy is our Latin curriculum for next year.

I read another 10% of Don Quixote this week. If I keep up this pace, I’ll be finished with the book in four weeks. Do I get a prize? Anything?

