With summer in full swing, the lack of a schedule is about to drive me bonkers. We managed a little bit of math and reading, and we’ve been enjoying our first summer read-aloud, Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski. But other than that, no one seems to be able to find a direction to go in. We got out of the house a couple of times this week, which has helped. We had a little “School’s Out” party with some of our homeschooling friends on Monday, and on Thursday we headed to the science center in Greensboro.

In spite of the chaos this week,  I’ve been a little ambitious (maybe that’s the source of the chaos? Hmmm….). For starters, we converted Doodlebug’s crib into a toddler bed this week. It’s been great so far with the exception of the first night, during which I had to sit on the floor and sing to her until she settled down. I also tried to start potty training this week. I quickly repented of that.

I started the Z-man on piano this week. He’s been begging me, so I figured we’d just go ahead and get moving on it. So far so good……

As far as Sassafras goes, I let her start tinkering with my sewing machine. I took the thread out and let her practice getting a steady speed with the foot pedal. I then let her sew (without thread) on paper to practice watching the foot pedal as a guide instead of the needle. By the second day, all of her lines were straight and she sewed some decent curves. She also practiced turning corners. She was dying to make something, so I printed off a free dress pattern for her new American Girl doll. By the way, she just had a birthday this past weekend. (Yay for her…breathing into a paper bag for me…..how did she get to be 8 already?!) Anyway, we chose some pink fabric that I already owned and made a little pillowcase-style dress. She sewed the side seams and I did the rest (which was all “stitch close to the edge” stuff). Not too bad…..not too bad. Now, of course, she wants me to make a matching dress for her.

   

It seems that Little Man has been the only one to escape my ambitious spirit this week. The biggest problem he had was losing the pants of his Spider Man costume every time he assumed the “Spidey” position. When he wasn’t saving the world, he was juking to Cello Wars.

And what have I been up to? I have two chapters left of Gulliver’s Travels. I think my next fiction book will be Oliver Twist. I have Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy on order, but Amazon seems to be dragging their feet.

A while back I had started working on a Chopin piece on piano, and then I got sidetracked. Well, I’ve been back in the saddle this week. I only have four lines left to learn, and then I’ll have a rough draft of the whole thing. It’s amazing what a little bit of daily practice will accomplish. 🙂

